Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013!

The beginning of a new year has always been exciting for me. It even smells different — it smells like possibilities and second chances. It is a possibility to start anew, with a clean slate – to be bold and daring, and I love that!

Unfortunately, the new year also brings heartaches and hardships, which helps us remember how fickle and fragile we are. It also helps us know for sure what we truly believe in. I love what Jonathan Edwards says about trials in his book Religious Affections, “(…) another benefit that such trials are of to true religion, is, that they purify and increase it. They not only manifest it to be true, but also tend to refine it, and deliver it from those mixtures of that which is false, which encumber and impede it; that nothing may be left but that which is true.” Maybe what you faced this year has made you want to give up on life itself. I’ve certainly been there at one point. For those of you who don’t know this, I’ve lost my Father 10 months ago. It was the hardest thing I’ve had to endure by far. It is never easy going through trials, especially when you can’t see the silver lining, but, the way I see it, I have two choices: I can either choose to cling to the One who can mend my broken heart and give me peace, or I can go about it the way the world does. I choose to cling to my Jesus. As painful and hard as it may be, He promises to be with me all the days of my life. And that is all I need to know!

Right now I want to encourage you to go to the One who carried a bigger burden than the one you are carrying right now. I want to encourage you not to give up because life is getting tough. Cling to the Lord. He is the only One who can save you!

May 2013 be filled with blessings and may we trust in the Lord like never before!

Psalm 16

5 Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
you make my lot secure.
6 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.
7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
8 I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
nor will you let your faithful[b] one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013!

  1. Beautifully written! God has given you the special gift of capturing a bit of the mysterious relationship we have with Christ and penning it down in part. Happy New Year Ana! Psalm 67!!

Leave a Reply

