Nothing more than feelings!

I don’t believe I have ever felt more lost as I do now. I feel as though I am drowning and there is nothing for me to hold on to. Desperation is taking over. I don’t know what to do or where to go from here. Sometimes I don’t know who to trust. I am completely alone. There is no one to fight for me. Sometimes I just want to run..

That is how I feel.

But that is not what I know to be true!

Sometimes – more often that I would like – my feelings don’t express the truth of God’s word.

I have been craving for TRUTH lately. And the Truth says that God IS for me. He has already fought for me — and He WON! Truth says He doesn’t withhold anything good from me, whether that be a trip to the US to meet my friends, a job in a city that I love, a husband, kids, ministry, or whatever else I may think I need. The Truth is – to quote my favorite blogger – today I have everything I need TODAY! Another quote that I love is “I won’t question in the dark what is true out in the light”, by Building 429. What I believe that means is that circumstances cloud our   judgement, and we are not supposed to question God’s purpose in a place of conflict. Even if my feelings are real and true, it doesn’t mean they line up with scripture — however real they may be. God’s word should validate my feelings and emotions. But what happens when it doesn’t? What happens when I feel alone, and there really is no one there, but the Bible says I’m not? What does that mean for me? How can my feelings validate the Truth of God’s Word?  I am having a little bit of problem putting what I know into action.

For now I will rest in the freedom that what I know to be true and what I feel may be completely different things.

The truth is I want to honor God with my feelings. And until I do, I will seek answers!

Love,

Ana

 

8 thoughts on “Nothing more than feelings!

  1. So true my friend. I am praying for you to stand on truth and not feelings. You are loved by the Lord and by me!

  2. Hi Ana, I saw your blog off facebook and wanted to encourage you in the Lord, I feel the same way sometimes and feel like the world has forgotten about me. I know that God is faithful, he says in Psalm 55:22 to cast your burden on the Lord and he shall sustain you, he will never permit the righteous to be moved. Be encouraged, God is faithful and see your pain and anything else your facing, God bless, Galatians 6:9 is good too!

  3. Ana,
    I’m sympathetic with your plight! I know just how it feels to “feel” too much into my circumstances, rather than leaning upon God’s eternal truths! It’s a constant struggle with some of us, others are truly gifted to hold a stronger resolve! That’s why we really need each other in the Body of Christ. Every function serves the other, that’s how Jesus intended it. Don’t ever think that feelings, or emotions are the enemy, although they can easily become that, however God would use them in a functional way, to bring us always to our knees, and to bring glory to Him.
    I’m sure others have and will encourage you toward the Scriptures, and that is the best place we can seek comfort. Try the Psalms, David was a passionate, emotional man of God, many times he was daunted by life and situations he found himself in, hardly the recipe for a great leader! But God desires the weak and the lowly, and the foolish things, so that we can have hope in Him, and praise His name.
    I myself have been going through an “emotional time” for months now! Feeling unappreciated, thinking that no one had my back, taking me for granted, and just really struggling with my faith! Finally, for me, I realized that I hadn’t been nourishing myself at all! For months, if you can imagine, and it was almost detrimental for me. Could I eat one meal a week for my physical body and survive for very long? The same applies to our spirits. Now I’m not saying you’re neglecting God’s Word, but the solution for me is the same for every issue we face. As I began to “eat” again, my outlook quickly changed, within a matter of hours! Problems I once had, now seem like opportunities, and I “feel” such joy, and peace, even though certain things are still happening.
    We are with you Ana, and we are in this together, be encouraged sister! You quoted Building 429, which reminds me…sing a new song to the Lord, as the Psalmist says, “I will remember my song in the dark, and recall the melody of the Lord”.
    It’s good to know that you, like myself, have an abundance of feelings. I pray that God will be the lifter of your head. He is always close to the broken hearted.
    And as for me, and my house, we will pray for you!

  4. Thank you so much, Patrick! You encouraged me. And you are right – emotions are not meant to be the enemy! They are meant to glorify God, as is everything else we do. Good to know I am not alone.

  5. listened to this.. for you and for me.. speaking truth to my soul from my spirit.. until my soul ‘gets it’..take heart my friend..

Leave a Reply

